The Ninth JSME-KSME
 Thermal and Fluids Engineering Conference

  October 27-30, 2017. Okinawa, Japan
Photo: Shisa (Okinawan lion statues) on a tiled roof
© Okinawa Convention & Visitors Bureau

Plenary Lectures

Four plenary lectures, given by the leading experts in different fields, are scheduled. The plenary lecturers are scheduled as follow.

Photo: Prof. Hyung Hee Cho Prof. Hyung Hee Cho, Yonsei University, Korea (KSME-TED)
“Design of New Cooling Technology to Enhance Thermal Efficiency in Gas Turbine”

Hyung Hee Cho is a Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea. His research interests include heat transfer and fluid flow to solve thermal problems for various macro to micro devices, such as gas turbines, rocket nozzles, nano/micro heat transfer.
Prof. Cho received Ph.D degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, in 1992. Since 1995, he has been with the Department of Mechanical Engineering, Yonsei University, Seoul, Korea, where he is currently a full professor and a Yonsei underwood distinguished professor.
Prof. Cho is a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, a scientific council member of the International Centre for Heat and Mass Transfer, a senior member of the National Academy of Engineering of Korea. He is also a vice president for Research Affairs at Yonsei University and a vice president of Korean Society of Mechanical Engineers.
Photo:Prof. Yu Fukunishi Prof. Yu Fukunishi, Tohoku University, Japan (JSME-FED)
“How Turbulence Begins in a Transitional Flat-Plate Boundary Layer”

Yu Fukunishi is a professor at Department of Mechanical Systems Engineering, Tohoku University, Japan. His research focuses on turbulence, transition and flow control.
Fukunishi completed his PhD in 1982 at the University of Tokyo, Japan. He worked as a NRC Research Associate at Fluid Mechanics Lab. of NASA Ames Research Center from 1984 to 1986. And as a Research Associate at Tokyo Institute of Technology from 1986 to 1989. He moved to Tohoku University in 1989, and has served as a full professor at Tohoku University since 2000.
Fukunishi is a Fellow of JSME. He served as a chairman of “Fluids Engineering Division of JSME” in 2013. He served JSME as an “Executive Board Director in charge of Finance”, 2014-2015. He was also the president of “the Japan Society of Fluid Mechanics” in 2015. He received awards including “JSME Medal for Outstanding Papers” in 2003, and “JSME Fluids Engineering Division Award” in 2015.
Photo:Prof. Sang Woo Joo Prof. Sang Woo Joo, Yeungnam University, Korea (KSME-FED)
“A Review on Non-Newtonian Microfluidic Phenomena”

Professor Sang W. Joo works in the School of Mechanical Engineering, Yeungnam University, Korea, and is a member of the Korea Academy of Science and Technology. His research interest includes microfluidics, hydrodynamic instability, interface phenomena, viscoelastic flows, and nano fabrication.
He is a graduate of Seoul National University, and received doctoral degree from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, followed by a postdoctoral experience with Professor Stephen H. Davis of Northwestern University. He was a professor in the University of Illinois at Chicago and Wayne State University and a visiting faculty member in Augsburg University, Germany and Cambridge University, England.
He served in the National Commission for Science and Technology of Korea, and is an Expert Member in the National Research Foundation of Korea. During the past decade he published over 300 SCI research articles on thermofluid science and on micro/nanotechnology.
Photo:Prof. Yasuyuki Takata Prof. Yasuyuki Takata, Kyushu University, Japan (JSME-TED)
“Wettability Effects in Liquid-Vapor Phase Change”

Yasuyuki Takata is a Professor of thermofluid physics in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and a Lead Principal Investigator at International Institute for Carbon-Neutral Energy Research (WPI-I2CNER), Kyushu University. His research area covers phase change heat transfer, micro JT cooler, micro heat transfer devices, and thermophysical properties of hydrogen, as well as a database of thermophysical properties of fluids.
He graduated from Department of Nuclear Engineering, Kyushu University in 1979 and then received Dr. Eng. in 1984 from the Department of Energy Conversion Engineering, Kyushu University. He has joined as a Lecturer with the Department of Mechanical Engineering in 1984 and then promoted to Associate Professor in 1986 and Professor in 2003.
He received The JSTP Award for Outstanding Achievement in 1995, The JSTP Best Paper Award in 2010 from the Japan Society of Thermophysical Properties (JSTP), Heat Transfer Society Award for Scientific Contribution in 2002 from the Heat Transfer Society of Japan (HTSJ), and JSME Thermal Engineering Achievement Award in 2010 from the JSME Thermal Engineering Division. He is a fellow and executive board director of the JSME in 2014 and 2015, executive board director of international affairs of the HTSJ, President of the JSTP in 2016 and Vice President of Asian Union of Thermal Sciences (AUTSE) since 2015.